Coffee (the sequel)

A little while ago, I wrote a post about coffee. About how I had tried, and failed, over the years, to like coffee. I’d worked with it for ages. I knew exactly how to steam the milk and run the coffee so that it might appear more tasty. But none of it had worked. I was quite definitely a tea drinker.

So then we went to Rome, where I made a concerted effort to fit in with the locals and stand at espresso bars sipping on a granita or getting straight in there with a ristretto (not sure about spelling, it means a really short, really strong espresso). And actually, I think it worked. The coffee tasted different there. I’m not sure if there’s something different about the way they roast their beans or whatever, but it’s different. It didn’t make me too hyper. It was bitter, but the coffee taste itself was the overriding memory I have.

image

Back in England, I’ve found that the coffee is more bitter. That’s the overriding taste, so that only if I’m really concentrating, can I taste the actual coffee in the background somewhere.

So I thought I’d seize the moment, on arriving back from Rome and start drinking espresso. I’ve been having one a day, mid morning ish. I have it quite short, about half the size of a standard espresso, with nothing in. No milk or sugar.

What fun! I’m so Italian! Look at me everyone! Look! Look! Watch me drink coffee like a grown up! Look, I’m one of you guys, a grown up. Look!

I’ll admit now, it was mostly for show, my self-imposed coffee habit.

image

So then, I started getting headaches. Dammit. I found out, through various experiments, that if I drink shedloads of water beforehand and make sure I have some food in my tummy, then I’m ok. If, however, I drink it before I drink water or eat anything, then I start to talk very fast for a while, before suddenly feeling tired and getting a bit headachey.

The headaches seem to have passed now, although I am tired a lot. This could be many things, not the coffee. Maybe I didn’t get enough sleep last night (although sometimes I do get enough sleep but I still feel tired), maybe I’m partaking in lots of exhausting activity (not really)…..

image

I’m not sure. As a newcomer to the world of coffee, I’m unfamiliar with the initiation ceremony. Is this how it goes? Headaches first, then the tiredness, then what….?

Is this the normal route to developing a coffee habit? Can any coffee drinkers out there tell me what to expect next?

Or should I stop now? Stop now while I’m just at tiredness? I mean, it’s not like I even notice when I don’t drink them. As I say, it’s all for show. I’m a bit too lazy to have any kind of actual addiction to coffee.

I should probably just let it go now, hey?

image

32 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alex Jones on October 27, 2012 at 10:00

    I do not drink much coffee, but I go through phases, including drinking high caffeine drinks of the Red Bull type, when I stop doing that I am hammered with a headache. The reason is the withdrawal symptoms of caffeine. Fortunately the withdrawal symptoms last one sometimes two days and I am okay after that.

    Reply

  2. First thing every morning, I drink two cups of coffee. When I started drinking coffee (around the age of 13 or 14), it used to bother my stomach and give me headaches, but I *needed* the caffeine. During this time, I would eat breakfast first and drink lots of water before having coffee, which helped.

    Now that my coffee “endurance” has improved (ha!), I can drink it immediately after I wake up. As I drink my second cup, though, I begin to drink a lot of water, which seems to prevent headaches (and also helps the rehydration process). However, after my two cups with almond milk, my stomach can’t handle anymore “straight up” java; if I need another caffeine boost, then I’ll usually have a latte or cafe misto from Starbucks. Oh, and once 2p hits, I can’t have any more caffeine because it will keep me up at night. That’s my coffee saga. 🙂

    Reply

    • I wasn’t finding it was keeping me awake too much until the other night, after the Italian feast, I decided it would be great to finish off with espressos and biscuits. Then when I went to bed I couldn’t drop off. I didn’t make the connection until the next day, when I was tired and grumpy. It was not good!

      Reply

  3. I am a big-time coffee drinker. In my experience, I get more headaches and I crash more easily if I don’t drink lots of water with my coffee. Also, the time of day I drink it is really important. If I drink it past 3:30, I’m not going to get all the benefts of it. I think you just have to find a good groove with it, like make it part of your daily routine and then it becomes really enjoyable and pleasant.

    Reply

  4. I only get a headache if I miss my morning coffee. It is my only coffee for the day, as I get nausea if I have two. My morning cup is heavy with cream and 1 heaping tsp of sugar. Not healthy but yummy! After lunch I have one cup of strong tea with milk and that toxic 1 tsp of sugar. But I just love it! Drink what you love and enjoy it. I would not drink either if there were no pleasure in it. I did not start drinking coffee until my thirties. I didn’t know what I was missing…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply

    • I never have milk or sugar in coffee or tea. Which means I’m really taking the plunge if I have either, as there’s just me and the coffee, in a face off. Often the coffee wins, making me grumpy. Sometimes I win, remaining calm but more efficient. If the coffee keeps winning, I’ll have to give it up….

      Reply

  5. Lovely post: I am a coffee addict! 🙂

    Reply

  6. that’s strange… I get headaches if I go without coffee 🙂 I think that means I’m an addict.

    since coffee is a natural diurectic, it’s probably dehydrating you and dehydration leads to headaches – which is why you need the water!

    Reply

    • Yeh, I’m trying to only do both coffee AND water or neither. If I realise I haven’t had enough water I just don’t have coffee that day. But then sometimes I forget and drink an espresso and get a little headache.

      Reply

  7. Coffee has more caffeine than tea. So it gives you a greater boost immediately and then lets you down with a crash soon after. I find that tea is more gentle; it gives a slight boost but lasts longer. and it doesn’t upset my stomach the way coffee does.

    Don’t let yourself become a coffee addict.

    Reply

    • No, I’m being quite controlled with it (at the moment), just having a short espresso about mid morning some days, not every day. And that’s my only coffee of the day. So I think I’m still on safe ground for now.

      Reply

  8. I stick to two 12 oz cans of Diet Coke a day. Although I drank coffee when I went to school in France in the 80s b/c they didn’t have Diet Coke (damn frogs). The coffee habit didn’t stick.

    Reply

  9. I loved coffee until a year ago. I drank at least a cup of coffee every day but since the last one year, something has happened to me and I do not like coffee any more. I just cannot drink it. Also, since I do not drink tea as well (since forever), it becomes problematic for me: no tea, no coffee..I drink milk with Bournvita (or any other chocolate energy powder) 😉

    Reply

    • O no! You don’t drink tea or coffee? Actually, I have a friend who doesn’t like any hot drinks except for hot chocolate, so you’re not alone. What about iced coffee? I quite like iced coffee.

      Reply

      • Yeah iced coffee is any day better than ‘hot coffee’ but I avoid it if I can 😉 I was a huge coffee fan once upon a time. Don’t know what happened!!!

  10. I drink a cup of coffee every morning and brew Oolong tea throughout the day. I have my last cup at either 3 o’clock or 6 o’clock. It depends on how late I have to work into the evening. I’m addicted to caffeine and get outrageous headaches in the afternoon if I don’t drink any caffeine earlier in the day.

    Reply

  11. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

    Reply

  12. I’m a massive coffee drinker. Have been drinking coffee since I was 14 and yes, had a few headaches but that went away with water for me. Nowadays I only know myself to be drinking the amount I do.
    7am: coffee when I wake up
    8am: Starbucks at the train station
    9.30: coffee at work
    Around 12: coffee with my lunch
    13: coffee while on the way to my desk
    15/1600: last cuppa at work
    1900: coffee at home
    2200: last cuppa
    And this is moderate schedule for me, happens that I exceed 10 a day. But no problem sleeping, actually if I don’t have that last cup I can’t sleep. Weird but true.

    So hang in there and one day you will be like me. Shiver the thought 🙂

    Reply

    • Wow. That’s an impressive amount of coffee! Have you ever tried going a whole day without any or would you cave in from the withdrawal symptoms? I’ve heard that seven double espressos is the maximum your heart can take before it starts to have a freak out…? Is this true?

      Reply

      • I have managed a full day without coffee but oh my was I a grumpy bugger 😀 I was tired and massive headache but by the end of the day I felt pretty ok. True that there is a limit to how much is good for you, my intake is quite extreme and once felt like my heart was going overdrive so had to cut down a little.

  13. […] this due to this bloggers problem to liking coffee. lazy Laura Maisey. Happy Friday […]

    Reply

  14. […] finished up with a ristretto, because my ‘coffee habit’ is going ok […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

