Today.

Today, the state of Texas want to kill a man called Vaughn Ross.

Vaughn has meant a lot to me.

I hope he is still alive tomorrow.

17 responses to this post.

  1. I’m proud you wrote this.

    Reply

  2. Sorry, I’m sure you have already written about it somewhere… But i would love to read the backstory here. You sound so sad.

    Reply

    • The basics are – I studied Human Rights at university and for my final year dissertation, I researched stuff about the quality of capital defense lawyers and how that affects the likelihood of getting a death sentence. So I visited death row units in Southern America and this guy is someone I met then and we’ve stayed in touch. I went to Texas last month to see him. The fact that he’s gone is yet to sink in.

      Reply

      • Wow! That’s huge:( somehow you’ve got to try and transition from this being just some research into a life changing encounter… I’m sure a lesson is to be learnt for someone somewhere from his passing. I watched a doco on death row inmates and it broke my heart… They are people with families too… And unless we are 100% it can never be justified. Soooo controversial and I’m still not entirely for or against death penalty… but I do believe that people that can afford quality representation can literally get away with murder…

      • Yeh, there’s a lot resting on the quality of your lawyer and if you’re poor, there’s not a lot of hope 😦

      • Yeh, there’s a lot resting on the quality of your lawyer and if you’re poor, there’s not a lot of hope 😦

      • Yeh, there’s a lot resting on the quality of your lawyer and if you’re poor, there’s not a lot of hope 😦

  3. Hoping you are ok…

    Reply

  4. […] 4 – This was happening. So I wasn’t in a great place. The staff member who spends her time being […]

    Reply

  5. I am embarrassed on behalf of my country that we still execute people. And your friend/acquaintance (not sure how to address him or what he is to you – certainly human being) was caught in the web of the most murderous state of all. I am sorry.

    Reply

  6. […] nights ago, I had a dream about Vaughn. It was the day of his execution and I was allowed to have a contact visit with him. He went off […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

