My gluten free failure

There was a disaster, people. A disaster! Yesterday morning, in work, the customers kept asking about gluten free options and I kept on saying, earnestly, “I’m going to make some this afternoon, just a few hours!”

As part of my Apple Challenge, I had made an almond cake with apples and gooseberries and it only had 40g of flour in it. So I figured it wasn’t that far off being gluten free. All I had to do was replace the plain flour with rice flour and I’d have a decent gluten free cake that was actually nice, as opposed to gluten free nice.

The afternoon came, I got my chef’s whites on and I approached the kitchen with gusto. I made shortbread biscuits and flapjacks and got some bread dough ready to start proving. Then I let my imagination run wild. Well, not really. I just got started on the gluten free recipe I’ve mentioned above. I was doing it from memory so I knew it might not be perfect.

I put in butter, sugar, ground almonds, rice flour, almond essence, plums, bicarb. It all seemed to be going ok. I put it in a cake tin and stuck it in the oven to bake then got back to my bread.

I looked in the oven at the half way point and it had risen a lot. I worried that it might spill out of the tin. When I checked ten minutes later, it had sunk and looked ridiculously flat. I took it out after it had finished baking and drizzled white chocolate on it and decided to rename it an ‘almond slice.’ It seems like it’s supposed to be flat then…. Doesn’t it?

As I walked home, I wrangled with myself about how to get on top of the gluten free challenge, about whether the rice flour ruined it or something else. Did I not put enough ground almonds in? Did I use too much bicarb? Why was it so flat?

I got home and went straight to the cookbook to figure out the mystery….

EGGS! I forgot the eggs. Dang it. What a schoolboy error. The bloody eggs.

So today, I will try again. Wish me luck!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Ha ha, first times rarely turn out error-free. Better luck on the next attempt.

    Reply

  2. Good luck, Laura. Yep, eggs would make a difference.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Maggie Thom on August 20, 2013 at 15:40

    It’s fun when you try to change out wheat flour for other flour isn’t it? I found one that is made specifically to be switched out with wheat flour… and the name is??? Sorry I’ll try to find it for you. It doesn’t taste good before it’s cooked but it surprisingly does after, I have used it many times and not told my family. They didn’t know, so it must be pretty good. Good luck with round two. 🙂

    Reply

    • Success! Round two was MUCH better. Light and fluffy and moist cause I put tons of plums in it. I also made a chocolate almond torte, which turned out quite well. Let me know when you remember the name of that flour. It wasn’t spelt, wasn’t it?

      Reply

      • Posted by Maggie Thom on August 21, 2013 at 20:02

        Hi. No it’s not. It’s a mixture of different gluten free vegies. I have swapped it out straight across with wheat flour in recipes and it turns out really good. As I mentioned it is gross to taste uncooked. At least in my opinion but cooked, you can’t tell that it’s not flour. That awful taste goes away. It is GF all purpose flour through Bob’s Red Mill. http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-all-purpose-baking-flour.html?&cat=24 Let me know if you try it. I’d love to hear your experience with it.

      • Brilliant. Thanks so much for the website address. I’m going to check it out now.

  4. […] bet you’re all hanging on the edge of your seat, wondering what happened after my gluten free failure the other day? Well, you’ll be pleased to know that I arrived in the kitchen the next day, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

