Things football commentators say

It’s Monday and my brain is tired so I’ve just got a short one consisting of some things I heard commentators say about the football on Saturday. Now, I know football is totally outside of my usual TV watching regime (which consists solely of food programmes) so it may be that I’m just not used to the things they say but the following is genuinely ridiculous. What is a ‘very off’ when it’s at home?

“O! Excellent! He’s done a brilliant job this evening.  He was born in the same hospital as David Beckham.”

“He’s been great. We see him leave the pitch as he’s being substituted. The only way is Essex.”

“I’m not sure I can quite stand it being so exciting.  But it is exciting.”

“It’s been a riveting game from the very off.”

“It really is such a simple game and such an exquisite game when simple football is played exquisitely.”

6 responses to this post.

  1. You mean you actually listen to the commentators, Laura? 🙂

    Reply

  2. My favourite recent one was a manager saying ‘Latte’ when he meant to say ‘the latter’!

    Reply

  3. My dad used to watch the game with the sound off. American football color commentary is even more daft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

