An ode to the cows

image

O, cows

O, cows, o, cows,
Of Petersham Meadow,
Every day I walk by
And see you as I go.

image

O, cows, o, cows,
What a wonder you are,
You make me feel
Like I live on a farm.

image

O, cows, o, cows,
Your home has been here,
But now you are off,
For another career.

image

O, cows, o, cows,
Now the fields are empty,
And our hearts are empty,
Our lives are empty.

image

O, cows, o, cows,
We shall always remember,
The months you were here,
Before you left in November.*

*They actually left in October but October doesn’t rhyme with remember. Deal with it.

15 responses to this post.

  1. I like cows, my grandma always had cows, they really behaved themselves 🙂

    Reply

  2. aw, they’re beautiful! I like the rhyming, by the way! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rambler5319 on October 31, 2013 at 12:12

    Look out Carol Ann Duffy!

    Reply

  4. I love your poem, Laura, and I love these cows. In the states we call them “Oreo” cows! 🙂

    Reply

  5. What a lovely way to say good bye to the season of change! Reminds me of the cows in our back yard (They’re actually the farmer’s but…) lovely pictures, lovely poems! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I always knew you would be a poet.

    Reply

  7. Belties, I love Belties

    Reply

Leave a Reply

