Borage, borage, borage

In light of my new foraging fun (I now forage at least once a week to make soup for Danda and I), I have got a book called Food For Free by Richard Mabey and am looking into things like edible flowers. I saw some beautiful photographs of borage and realised I’d seen it around quite a bit but not realised what I was looking at nor that I could eat it. And it looks beautiful on a plate of light summery fun, a salmon fillet perhaps and some greens. With some beautiful borage on the top.

In honour of this new discovery, I have composed some poetry. I would describe my style as philosophical and thought-provoking.

image

Borage, borage, borage

There’s a garden down the road with some borage,
I wish I had some borage,
I’d eat that borage with my porridge,
I’d have a breakfast of borage porridge.

I’d like to forage that borage,
I wish I had borage like that borage,
I think it’s my favourite borage,
And boy, do I like to forage!?
I’d like to forage that borage.
For my porridge.

Forage, borage, porridge.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alex Jones on June 23, 2013 at 09:50

    Set that to music and you may have a pop song 🙂

    Reply

  2. Step aside John Donne, Wordsworth and Duffy
    Don’t challenge LLM she’ll only get huffy
    She’s begun writing in verse
    What some say is nonsense at first
    And may hasten their end in a hearse!

    Reply

Leave a comment